ILRG People

The ILRG is home to many staff with different skills, backgrounds and research interests. Yet we try to create a synergy that allows us to advance our understanding of plants, how their genetics controls adaptability, organ development and internal as well as external communication.

Education is also an important part of our mission. The group is committed to training the next generation of plant scientists.

Associate Professor Brett Ferguson

Associate Professor Brett Ferguson
Research Group Leader
Office 228, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9951 
Email: b.ferguson1@uq.edu.au

Emeritus Professor Peter Gresshoff

Emeritus Professor Peter Gresshoff
Emeritus Director 
Office 222, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9951 
Email: p.gresshoff@uq.edu.au

Dr Huanan SuDr Huanan Su
Visiting academic (Gannan Normal University / National Navel Orange Engineering Research Center, China)
Office 223A, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3365 3550
Email: huanansu211@163.com

Dr April HastwellDr April Hastwell
Postdoctoral Researcher
Office 211, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3345 4436
Email: a.hastwell@uq.edu.au

Ms Lisa XianMs Lisa Xian
Project Officer
Office 332, Level 3 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3365 2859
Email: l.xian@uq.edu.au

Mrs Ning ChenDr Ning Chen
Research Technician
Office 214, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3345 7227
Email: n.chen@uq.edu.au

Mrs DongXue LiMrs DongXue Li
Research Technician
Office 214, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3345 7227
Email: dong.li@uq.edu.au

 

PhD students

Ms Xitong ChuMs Xitong Chu
PhD Student
Office 230, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9954
Email: xitong.chu@uq.net.au

Miss Candice Jones Miss Candice Jones
PhD Student
Office 211, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3365 4436
Email: candice.jones@uqconnect.edu.au

Ms Sarah Lorberg Ms Sarah Lorberg
PhD Student
Office 203, Level 2 John Hines (Building 62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9945
Email: sarah.lorberg@uqconnect.edu.au

Ms Celine MensMs Celine Mens
PhD Student
Office 213, Level 2, John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9592
Email: c.mens@uq.net.au 

Ms Mengbai ZhangMs Mengbai Zhang
PhD Student
Office 213, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9592
Email: mengbai.zhang@uq.net.au

Audrey McInnerneyMs Audrey Mcinnerney
PhD student
Office 203, Level 2 John Hines (Building 62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9945
Email: audrey.mcinnerney@uq.net.au

Ms Nipuni Peththa ThanthrigeMs Nipuni Peththa Thanthrige
PhD student (primary supervisor Dr Brett Williams, QUT)
Office 211, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3365 4436
Email: n.peththathanthrige@uq.edu.au

Ms Sharifah Farhana Syed Ab Rahman Ms Sharifah Farhana Syed Ab Rahman
PhD student (primary supervisor Prof. Peer Schenk)
Office 517A, Level 5 John Hines Building (62)
Email: s.syedabrahman@uq.edu.au

Mr Kyle Lamont
PhD student (primary supervisor Prof. Ian Godwin)
Office Level 3, John Hines Building (62)
Email: kyle.lamont@uqconnect.edu.au

Mr William NakMr William Nak
PhD student (primary supervisor Prof. Neena Mitter)
Office Level 3, South, Queensland Biosciences Precinct
Phone: +61 7 3346 6507
Email: William.nak@uqconnect.edu.au

Honours students

Ms Leslie Macas Jacome Ms Leslie Macas Jacome
Honours student
Office 203, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9945
Email: leslie.macasjacome@uq.net.au

Ms Estelle Grundy Ms Estelle Grundy
Honours Student
Office 220A, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9956
Email: s4389648@student.uq.edu.au

Ms Alex MattinsonMs Alexandria Mattinson
Honours student
Office 203, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9945
Email: alexandria.mattinson@uq.net.au

Ms Celina LimMs Celina Lim
Honours student
Office 214, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3345 7227
Email: celina.lim@uq.net.au

Ms Tamia KurinuaMs Tamia Kurinua Salazar Porate
Honours student
Office 203, Level 2 John Hines Building (62)
Phone: +61 7 3346 9945
Email: tamia.salazarporate@uq.net.au 

Masters students

Ms Arzoo
Masters student
Email: arzoo@uq.net.au

Mr Rentao Xiong
Masters student
Email: rentao.xiong@uq.net.au

Ms Bhavya Sandeep Goriya
Masters student
Email: b.goriya@uq.net.au

Past students

Yu-Hsiang Lin (PhD) 2012 (Dean’s Commendation)

Meng-Han Lin (PhD) 2013 

Saeid Mirzaei (PhD) 2013

Satomi Hayashi (PhD) 2014 (Dean’s Commendation)

Dugald Reid (PhD) 2012 (Dean’s Commendation) 

Bethany van Hameren (MPhil) 2015

April Hastwell (PhD) 2018