Student Achievements recognised at Awards Ceremony

15 Aug 2016

Student group photo with awardsCongratulations to all recpients of Scholarships, Prizes and Awards for Semester 2, 2015 and Semester 1, 2016.

Over 70 people gathered at the annual awards event held at the Sir Llew Edwards Terrace, St Lucia.

Our guest speaker was Ms Chelsea Stroppiana, past winner of the Honours Scholarship in Agricultural Business and recent recipient of the Ag Institute Australia (AIA) National Student Award for 2016. 

Thankyou to everyone that attended, especially our donors and scholarship providers who support the students in the School of Agriculture and Food Sciences.

2015 Prizes

Australian Society for Animal Production Prize in Animal Science | David Innes

B & B Chamala Memorial Prize | Tegan Moller   

Ben Brown Encouragement Award for Agricultural Science | Gillian Kirchner

Ben Brown Memorial Medal for Agricultural Science | Zhong Xiang Cheah

ER Butler Prize | Taleta Bailey

John William Tierney Memorial Prize | Noeleen Warman

Lindsay and Richard Watson Prize | Gillian Kirchner

Ronald Brownlie Memorial Prize | Alice Warner

Russell Grigg Memorial Prize | Lewis Nevin

Tiffany Dobbs Memorial Prize | Anna Rush and Giuditta Crisci

William Woolcock Memorial Prize | Linda Tilley

Semester 2 2015 scholarships

Downing Brothers Bursary | Zhong Xiang Cheah

Rio Tinto Alcan Environmental Science Scholarship | Devon Hamley

Noeleen Warman receives the John William Tierney Memorial Prize


Semester 1 2016 scholarships

Angus Baxter Scholarship | Jessica Kirby

Arrow Energy Agricultural Scholarship | Loretta Toncheck and Renae Vernon

David Farrell Postgraduate Award | Mohammed Waleed Khudhair

Ivor A Gill Memorial Scholarship in Agricultural Science | Angela Marshall

James and Evering

ham Bursary | Reed Stephens

Maria Vasas Scholarship in Equine Science | Lynette Hilly

Edwin Munro Scholarship in Agricultural Science | Yiyao Li

Peter Whiteman Memorial Bursary | Ali Ahsan Bajwa

Robert Philp Scholarship | Taleta Bailey

Slade Scholarship | Michael Wellington

UQ Gatton Past Students Association Scholarship | Loretta Tonscheck

Honours Scholarship in Animal Science | Emily Rush

Honours Scholarship in Environmental Science | Taleta Bailey

Honours Scholarship in Food, Nutrition and Technology | Kelly Colreavy

Honours Scholarship in Plant and Soil Science | Emma Teese


 Micahel Wellington received the Slade Scholarship and E R Butler Prize

Prizes - semester 1 2016

B & B Chamala Memorial Prize | Ms Qi En Teo

ER Butler Prize | Michael Wellington

William Woolcock Memorial Prize | Daniel Smith      Highly Commendable Runner Up | Lauren Guest